Everything in it’s time…

I came back from my 4-day “mom-cation”/women’s retreat (aka Relevant) at peace and full of joy. Those first few days back I saw my boys with new eyes. My patience was endless, everything they did was wonderful, and I was content being fully present with them.

Fast forward a week…the joy of being with amazing godly women was a distant memory. The heaviness of the mundane was weighing down on me. The constant training and correcting of my boys was sucking the life out of me.

This past Sunday I found myself asking a mentor, “Why can’t I experience the same fulfillment and joy when I’m with my boys that I had when I was at the women’s conference?”. She reminded me that I am in a season that requires a lot of effort and teaching with little reward or feedback. When I’m with those women I am getting immediate approval and encouragement. She said it is only now with grown children that she is seeing the fruit of her labor.

On Monday I chatted with another mom of 3 boys who completely identified with my struggle. She simply said, “we go through those challenging seasons too. Those times when the boys require a little more redirection and patience.”

It’s a season.

This isn’t a new concept for me but as I cried out in my bed Monday night longing for a different “season”, I remembered something else that had happened while I was at Relevant.

Traveling to the East Coast in late October I thought I would experience my favorite season, Fall. What I did not anticipate is that I would also get to experience Winter while I was visiting.

That Saturday the sky dumped over 12 inches of snow on us. Although beautiful, snow is not typical for late October. It was out of season.

When the snow fell before the season of Fall had run it’s course, devastation happened. Because the leaves had not fallen, they caught the snow and the weight was too much for the trees to bear. The result was broken limbs…leading to electricity outages, car damage, and deaths.

This week as I prayed for things to get easier, for God to move me out of this hard stage, I realized I can’t rush through the seasons in my life. I can’t wish for the next developmental stage. The challenges and joys I am experiencing now are important for the what God has next. If I try to rush to the next season, devastation happens. Things get broken. People get hurt.

This season of raising three young boys while my belly grows larger and my hormones rage is growing me in so many ways. The next season of having 3 boys and a newborn won’t necessarily be any easier.

I don’t know what season you find yourself in right now but trust that it is preparing you for the next season. Trust the Creator of the universe to know what’s best. Here are words from Daniel as he trusted in God to provide for him while he was in exile:

“Praise be to the name of God for ever and ever; wisdom and power are his.

He changes times and seasons; he sets up kings and deposes them.

He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the discerning.

He reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what lies in darkness, and light dwells with him.

I thank and praise you, O God of my fathers:

You have given me wisdom and power.” {Daniel 2:20-23a}

Linking up with:

Thought Provoking Thursdays and
Life: Unmasked

12 thoughts on “Everything in it’s time…

  1. Heather you so beautifully expressed my heart here! I actually cringe when I hear the word season…because I have been in it for 12 years now. It doesn’t feel like a season.

    But, the parallel you made with the snow and when you rush it, it breaks or devastates, now that is a visual I understand.

    I am grateful from my family, blessed beyond blessed. However, it is THE area, that God uses in my life to mold me. It is not easy, but it is good to be where God wants me and know that He is at work on my heart.

    You are such a blessing!

    • thanks sister friend. After writing this I also realized that fall is considered to be more pleasant than winter…how sometimes the seasons we want to “rush” through may be the more pleasant in our lifetime…
      hmmm

  2. I needed to read this post more than I can express. You can be a mother of one, pregnant with another, and still want to rush through your season…only to find that I will try to rush through the next season, once it arrives. That is why I am so thankful for your words today…I need to meditate on this.

  3. There’s something about motherhood that leads us to believe it will always be this hard. I have to remind myself constantly that it will pass, and there are things to appreciate about this time that I won’t have once it does pass. It’s like when I’m sweating and stinky in the middle of summer and pine away for cozy nights by the fire and the nip of cool air in fall, but when fall comes around I wish for the longer days and sunshine of summer. 🙂

    I too felt something at Relevant that I wish I could replicate here at home. The community I had there was so accepting and safe. You are not alone!

  4. I feel like I am going through this “time” as well. I feel like my heart can actually feel Him twisting, molding, tearing off things. I don’t love this feeling! But then I know I hear His voice in my everyday saying “OHH! You just wait! Just wait till you see what I am crafting your life into! Be obedient. Search me out. But be patient with this time in your life!”

    I think its ok to feel a little ‘off to the side of joyful’. A little uncomfortable. A little unbalanced. These things keep me clinging for Him anyway. Loved your post! and needed to hear it this morning!

  5. I subscribe to your blog so I read it in my email instead of over here and so many times I want to respond and I don’t get a chance to. I relate to SO MANY of your entries. I seriously could have written them myself. If I had a human mouthpiece it would be you. 🙂 LOL I am going to try to start blogging more. I just wanted to say how much I appreciate your transparency when you write. It is very real and not sugar coated. I love it.

Leave a Reply

